Stephan von Huene | Kinetic and Sound Sculptures
The complete work of Stephan von Huenes, kinetics, sound sculptures, assemblages, drawings
Stephan von Huene, kinetics, sound sculptures, media art, Huene
12
home,page-template-default,page,page-id-12,page-parent,cookies-not-set,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-4.6,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.5,vc_responsive

Stephan von Huene

Stephan von Huene and the man of jüterbog

Stephan von Huene and The Man from Jüterbog, 1995

photo: Dirk Reinartz

Stephan von Huene (1932–2000) was one of the founders of 20th century sound and media art. Beginning in the 1960s, he opened up innovative paths for acoustic and kinetic art through his sculptures – which he often called “machines” – while offering the public new perceptual and experiential possibilities. After studies in art and art history, von Huene began producing drawings, paintings, and leather sculptures. Realizing that these works failed to correspond to the times and to his intentions, he began to experiment with the construction of sound sculptures.

This website provides an overview of the works of Stephan von Huene. Listed alongside the sound sculptures are drawings, mind maps, and radio plays, as well as leather and bread sculptures. Recommended for a deeper knowledge of von Huene’s œuvre is a look at the catalog that accompanied the retrospective, the catalog devoted to his graphic work, and the volume of his writings. Listed here is an overview of the museums where von Huene’s works are found.

Current scholarly investigations of his œuvre include dissertations by Jesús Muñoz Morcillo and Alexis Ruccius. Since 2017, an association (Verein Stephan von Huene) has supported an awareness of this artist and promoted research into his artistic achievement (www.stephanvonhuene.de). Please feel free to contact us if you are planning publications about the works of Stephan von Huene or related activities: stephanvonhuene@posteo.de

Stand: 15.3.2019

Stephan von Huene | Kinetik- und Klangskulpturen
Das Gesamtwerk Stephan von Huenes, Kinetik, Klangskulpturen, Assemblagen, Zeichnungen
Stephan von Huene, Kinetik, Klangskulpturen, Medienkunst, Huene
66
home,page-template-default,page,page-id-66,page-parent,cookies-not-set,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-4.6,header_top_hide_on_mobile,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7,vc_responsive

Stephan von Huene

Stephan von Huene und der Mann von Jueterbog 1995

Stephan von Huene und Der Mann von Jüterbog, 1995

Foto: Dirk Reinartz

Stephan von Huene (1932–2000) ist einer der Begründer der Klang- und Medienkunst im 20. Jahrhundert. Mit seinen Skulpturen, die er selbst oft „Maschinen“ nannte, hat er seit den 1960er Jahren der akustischen und kinetischen Kunst neue Wege eröffnet und für das Publikum neue Wahrnehmungen und Erfahrungen ermöglicht. Begonnen hatte von Huene nach dem Studium der Kunst und Kunstgeschichte mit Zeichnungen, Malerei und Lederskulpturen. Durch die Erkenntnis, dass diese Medien seiner Zeit und seinen Intentionen nicht mehr entsprechen konnten, fing er an, mit dem Bau von Klangskulpturen zu experimentieren.

Diese Homepage gibt einen Überblick über die Werke von Stephan von Huene. Neben den Leder- und Brotskulpturen werden  die Klangskulpturen, die Bilder und Zeichnungen sowie Hörspiele vorgestellt. Zur Vertiefung empfiehlt sich ein Blick in den Katalog zur Retrospektive, zum zeichnerischen Werk in The Song of the Line, und darüber hinaus in die Publikation Split Tongue. Darin findet sich eine Übersicht, in welchen deutschen Museen von Huenes Werke zu finden sind.

Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zu den Werken bieten die Dissertationen von Jesús Muñoz Morcillo und von Alexis Ruccius. Seit 2017 fördert der Verein Stephan von Huene die Verbreitung und Erforschung seines Werks. Kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie Publikationen oder andere Aktivitäten zu Werken Stephan von Huenes planen und teilen Sie uns Ihre Anregungen mit unter: stephanvonhuene@posteo.de

Stand: 15.3.2019